Sports Talk with Johnny

Just a dash of sports

Snapchat Venturing Into Live Sports

And I have no interest in anything they’ll be offering. If you use the mobile social network, then you’re already familiar with its “Our Story” feature. It’s basically where individual snaps and videos are posted from big events. For example, I’ve seen New York Fashion Week, the Arnold Sports Festival, and the Oscars. But now they want more.

Rumor has it that the first live sports event to be covered this way will be this year’s NCAA Final Four. And all snaps and videos will still come from users. But what I’m not understanding is how this is a change from what they already do. I’ve seen snaps and videos in the “Our Story” feature from the World Series, BCS Championship, and Super Bowl. All from fans.

I think what may be different now is that there will be a legitimate deal in place with the leagues to feature particular events. I honestly have no idea. What I do know is that I’d much rather watch the games or matches of any event live on TV than see ten second bits and pieces on Snapchat. That isn’t the way to watch sports.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment